What if Judging Your Neighbor = Judging God?

Currently I am sitting in the “Corum”–an open area where students regularly gather around the scattered tables, couches, bars, benches, and Golden Eagle Cafe to work on homework, chat, hangout, or play pool.  From where I sit, I can see three sets of people involved in conversation, four people working quietly by themselves on computers, a handful of people flipping through textbooks, and a small line of students waiting at the cafe. Everyone is different, caught up in different tasks, busy with different thoughts, living a different life.

What fascinates me, however, is that each person is a reflection of the God who created them. This thought has been in my mind ever since reading the following quote in David Livermore’s What Can I Do?: Making a Global Difference Right Where You Are last week: “If you want to get a glimpse of what God looks like, look at the person next to you.” The complexity of differing personalities in the midst of differing goals, is a reflection of the complexity of God.

It’s easy to look at others, to see their differences, and to judge them for it. It’s easy to let thoughts like “I would never wear that!” “Too much makeup, girl!” and “did you know your hair makes you look like an alien?” run through our minds when we are people watching. But this is the wrong way to people watch–for moral as well as logistical reasons. I would never want to encourage such an attitude.

Instead, what I hope to accomplish through my blog is appreciation of people (and more so of God) through the watching of others. I want to encourage you to look at the differences of appearances and be in awe of the amazing creativity God put into use when creating that many different faces. I want you to see the friendships others have and be thankful for the way people can connect with each other. I would love if you could smile at the random personality traits of others. I believe people watching can be a way that we can see greater beauty in the world and worship God through this appreciation.

So, what are your thoughts? Do you agree or disagree with this perspective initiated by David Livermore? Do you tend toward a more judgmental or appreciative view when watching people?

One thought on “What if Judging Your Neighbor = Judging God?

  1. […] available object, for that matter) Christian who immediately proclaims that God will bring down judgement on you if you do anything fun or enjoyable. I mean, seriously, folks, you’ve read my posts; […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

